People on the Move:

The Notes: April 30, 2018

FirstMed Health and Wellness Center opened a clinic at 3940 N. Martin Luther King Blvd., Suite 105, North Las Vegas.

The Las Vegas office of Spencer Fane, staffed by attorneys John Mowbray, Mary Bacon and Randy Jeffries, moved to the ninth floor of the Bank of America Plaza at 300 S. Fourth Street, Las Vegas.

Ascaya completed its third Inspiration Home, located at 3 Cloud Chaser Blvd. in Henderson. Exterior architecture was designed by Hoogland Architecture and interior architecture was designed by Daniel Joseph Chenin, both based in Las Vegas. This is the first of Ascaya’s Inspiration Homes to be designed by local architecture firms.

Maverick Helicopters received the Federal Aviation Administration’s 2017 Award of Excellence “Diamond Award.” This is Maverick’s seventh consecutive Diamond Award for its Las Vegas and Grand Canyon South Rim locations and the third consecutive award for its Maui, Hawaii, facility since its inception in 2015.

Hirschi Masonry completed a building for Firetrucks Unlimited, 1178 Center Point Drive, Henderson, that will serve as housing for a vintage fire truck collection.

China Tang is open at MGM Grand. The restaurant is owned by Lai Sun Group and the MGM Grand location represents the company’s debut in the Western Hemisphere.

Andrea Champion is an associate attorney with Bailey Kennedy. She practices primarily in complex civil litigation, class action litigation and appellate advocacy, including disputes involving commercial and corporate law, business torts and partnerships. She also represents clients in matters involving employment disputes, including discrimination claims and wrongful termination claims.

SR Construction is building the Centennial Hills Skilled Nursing Facility at 8565 W. Rome Blvd., Las Vegas. The 42,327-square-foot project will hold 72 beds.

Destinations by Design, along with Venetian and Palazzo, won two awards at the 33rd annual Gala Awards hosted by Special Events magazine: “Best Dining Table Design” and “Best On-site Catered Event by a Hotel Banquet Department” from the fourth annual Ultimo: Weekend of Excellence’s Grand Banquet.

MountainView Hospital’s Las Vegas Institute for Robotic Surgery acquired its third Xi da Vinci robot, MountainView’s fifth surgical robotic system.

Architect Jonathan Sparer was named to the American Institute of Architects’ College of Fellows. Elevation to fellowship is the highest honor that can be bestowed on an architect.

Nevada State Bank named Robert Arnal as vice president, branch manager, for the Downtown Summerlin location, 11035 Lavender Hills Drive, Suite 170, Las Vegas. Jacquelyn Trevena is branch manager at The Lakes branch. Lela Clark is the branch manager for the Mountain’s Edge branch.

Claude Baruk, the hairstylist behind Claude Baruk Salons at Wynn and Encore Las Vegas, was named “Celebrity Hairstylist of the Year” at the fourth annual Hollywood Beauty Awards.

• • •

NAIOP Southern Nevada, an organization representing commercial real estate developers, owners and related professionals in office, industrial, retail and mixed-use real estate, honored the following at the 21st annual NAIOP Spotlight Awards:

Industry Award category winners

• Financial Firm of the Year: CommCap Advisors

• Engineering Firm of the Year: Kimley-Horn

• Brokerage Firm of the Year: Colliers International

• Property Management Firm of the Year: CBRE

• Architecture Firm of the Year: EV&A Architects

• General Contracting Firm of the Year: DC Building Group

• Individual Broker of the Year: Marc Magliarditi, CCIM

• Broker Team of the Year—Industrial: CBRE-Higgins & Toft Team

• Broker Team of the Year - Office: Colliers International —Taber Thill, SIOR; Patti Dillon, SIOR; Ryan Martin, CCIM, SIOR; and Teddie Hickey

• Broker Team of the Year—Retail: Colliers International-CNR Retail Advisors (Chris Clifford, Steve Neiger, Brett Rather)

• Developing Leader of the Year: Cassie Catania-Hsu, Sun Commercial Real Estate

• Development Firm of the Year: Prologis

• NAIOP Works Deal of the Year: The Hughes Center Retail II

• Ellie Shattuck Award: Kyle Nagy, CommCap Advisors

• Special Recognition: Arnold Lopez, In Memorial

• Associate Member of the Year: Matthew Hoyt, CommCap Advisors

• Principal Member of the Year: Jay Heller, Heller Companies

• Trendsetter Firm of the Year: VanTrust Real Estate

Project Honor Award Winners

• Office Tenant Improvements— Small: Make-A-Wish

• Office Tenant Improvements— Large: AIS, Northport Business Center

• Office Tenant Improvements —Special Use: Pulte Group, the Arroyo

• Healthcare Tenant Improvement: Spring Valley OR Expansion and Renovation

• Retail Tenant Improvement: T-Mobile Signature Store

• Public Use / Government—Other: City of Henderson Inspirada Fire Station #91

• Public Use / Government— School: Children’s Learning Adventure

• Parks & Recreation: ASCAYA Clubhouse

• Redevelopment Project: Henriksen Butler Office Building

• Special Use—Small:

Magic Mike Live Theater

• Special Use—Large: City National Arena

• Retail Center: Hughes Center II

• Office Building: Credit One Bank Corporate Headquarters and Campus

• Healthcare Building: Emerus Community Hospital Camino Campus

• Retail Building: Downtown Las Vegas Starbucks

• Industrial Building Build to Suit - Small: Sunrise Industrial Park 9

• Industrial Building Build to Suit —Large: Building Three of Northgate Distribution Center

• Industrial Building Spec—Small Park: Sunset Landing

• Industrial Building Spec—Small: Beltway Distribution Center

• Industrial Building Spec - Large: Henderson Freeways Crossing

The following schools earned the 2017-18 MSA Magnet School of Excellence Award, which is the top merit award category given to a select group of Magnet Schools across the nation that have demonstrated the highest level of excellence in all facets of the merit award application:

• Advanced Technologies Academy

• Jim Bridger Middle School

• James Cashman Middle School

• Ed W. Clark High School

• Desert Pines High School Academy of Communications and Information Technology

• Desert Pines High School Academy of Hospitality

• East Career and Technical Academy

• K.O. Knudson Middle School

• Jo Mackey Academy of Leadership and Global Communication

• Gordon McCaw STEAM Academy

• Northwest Career and Technical Academy

• Southeast Career and Technical Academy

• Southwest Career and Technical Academy

• Valley High School International Baccalaureate Program

The following schools earned the 2017-18 Magnet School of Distinction Award, which is the second-highest level of awards given to magnet schools that have met all the basic requirements outlined in MSA’s merit awards scoring rubric:

• Walter Bracken STEAM Academy

• Kit Carson International Academy

• Del Sol Academy of the Performing Arts

• Robert O. Gibson Middle School

• Kenny C. Guinn Middle School

• Mabel Hoggard Math and Science Magnet School

• Walter Johnson Junior High School Academy of International Studies

• Rancho High School Academy of Aviation

• Rancho High School Academy of Pre-Medicine

• Valley High School Academy of Hospitality and Tourism

• West Career and Technical Academy

• Thurman White Academy of the Performing Arts


This story originally appeared in the Las Vegas Weekly.