People on the Move:

The Notes: Jan. 21-27

Charlie Mack, owner/broker of Mack Realty, was elected to a two-year term to the CCIM (Certified Commercial Investment Member) Institute’s Executive Committee.

Members of the Las Vegas Medical District Advisory Council include Angela Quinn, CEO and president of FirstMed Health and Wellness Center; Jon Bilstein, executive director of Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada; and Dr. Robert McBeath, CEO of Southwest Medical Associates.

Towbin Motorcars opened its Ferrari Maserati of Las Vegas showroom at 5540 W. Sahara Ave. The facility is owned and managed by Jesika Towbin-Mansour and Carolynn Towbin.

Kurt Brackob is relationship manager at City National Bank’s Summerlin branch, in the bank’s Las Vegas Regional Center at 10801 W. Charleston Blvd. Jeff Waibel is vice president and senior relationship manager of City National Bank’s Commercial Banking group. Jeff Zemp is a wealth analyst in City’s private banking division.

Richard Trachok II joined McDonald Carano as senior counsel. He has experience in energy and alternative energy, telecommunications and utilities, gaming and regulatory matters, as well as government relations law.

The 2018 edition of Benchmark Litigation recognized Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie as a “Highly Recommended” law firm in Nevada, with Las Vegas attorneys Von Heinz, Dan Polsenberg and Dan Waite recognized.

Stephanie Hill, who directs the multiple listing service for the Greater Las Vegas Association of Realtors, has been elected to serve as the secretary/treasurer for the national Council of Multiple Listing Services board of directors.

Tyler Collins and Kelsey Gunther are assistant account executives at the Ferraro Group.

John Bolce is the regional manager for LP Insurance Services.

Mark Hall is the field manager for the Bureau of Land Management’s Black Rock Field Office.

Henry Kim, Brian Moy, Shea Billadeau, McKay Ozuna, Marian Massey, Alexander Williams, Joel Browning, Holly Galloway and Justin Dewey joined Alverson, Taylor, Mortensen & Sanders as associate attorneys.

Ned Martin is chief administrative officer and Phyllis Gilland is senior vice president and general counsel at Golden Entertainment.

American Banker’s “Most Powerful Women in Banking” recognized Zions Bancorp. for having one of the top teams in the nation. The team includes Nevada State Bank’s Shannon Petersen, executive vice president and corporate banking manager, and Debby Herman, senior vice president and Northern Nevada region manager. Zions Bancorp. is the parent company of Nevada State Bank.

Cindy Ellis is president and Sara Costello is vice president of Nevada Women’s Philanthropy.

The Urban Chamber of Commerce’s Green Tie Awards honored the following people and groups as distinguished honorees: Sen. Aaron D. Ford, Phyllis James, Jerrie Merritt and the Raiders. Awards were given to the following: Community Champion — Eclipse Theaters; Corporation of the Year — City of Las Vegas; Excellence in Education — College of Southern Nevada; Small Business Excellence in Construction — Müller Construction; Small Business Excellence in Service — My Next Career Path.

Dr. David Di John, associate professor of pediatrics and section chief for pediatric infectious diseases in the UNLV School of Medicine, is director of a grant-funded maternal-HIV program. Pamela Beal, associate dean of clinical affairs with the school of medicine, will oversee business operations for the program. The UNLV maternal-HIV program is funded by an HRSA Ryan White Part D grant. The grant covers primary and specialty medical care and treatment for uninsured or underinsured women, infants and children living with HIV/AIDS.

Rachel Bounds and Tarah Ryan are litigation paralegals at Naqvi Injury Law.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation named Heidi Swank, executive director at Nevada Preservation Foundation, to its National Trust Advisors Program.

The Global Business Committee of the Greater Las Vegas Association of Realtors was honored by the National Association of Realtors with a Platinum Global Achievement Program Award.

The Las Vegas Metro Chamber of Commerce presented the 2017 Business Excellence Awards. Honorees in the Trailblazers category are Desert Radiology, Fisher Phillips, A Happy Nest, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Nevada Blind Children’s Foundation and Southwest Gas. Honorees in the Innovators category are Children’s Dentistry, Classes.Vegas, MDL Group, Touro University Nevada and United Way of Southern Nevada. Honorees in the Trendsetters category are Barrick, Howard & Howard Attorneys, NetEffect, Nevada HAND and Smart City Networks. Honorees in the Groundbreakers category are America First Credit Union, Assistance League of Las Vegas, DC Building Group, MJ Christensen Diamonds and Nevada State Contractors Board. Honorees in the Cultivators category are Bank of America, Boyd Gaming, Holland & Hart, The Penta Building Group and Pinot’s Palette. Honorees in the Visionaries category are Geotab, Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, The Smith Center for the Performing Arts and Veterans Village Las Vegas.

WGU Nevada’s parent company, WGU, has been recognized by the International Council of E-Commerce Consultants as the 2017 Academia Partner of the Year, the highest designation presented by EC-Council to one of its 1,000-plus academic partners annually. In addition, the National Council on Teacher Quality ranked WGU’s Teachers College programs among the best in the nation. Out of 2,481 programs included in NCTQ’s annual Teacher Prep Review, WGU was one of just seven schools to earn the highest overall quality score for its undergraduate secondary teacher prep programs.

The Las Vegas Global Economic Alliance recognized the following for making an economic impact: Innovation Award — Switch; Leadership Award — Glenn Christenson; Partnership Award — Regional Transportation Committee; Jobs Award — Fanatics.

Cañonita Mexico City Soul Food, in the Grand Canal Shoppes, opened Street Taqueria, a food truck facade offering grab-and-go Mexican street food.

• • •

Hospitality awards

The Nevada Hotel and Lodging Association recognized the following at the Stars of the Industry Hospitality Awards:

• Hotelier of the Year: Alex Canales, Hilton Grand Vacations

• General Manager of the Year: Debra Lang, Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Minden

• Management Professional of the Year: Laurie Baumgartner, Cannery

• Emerging Hospitality Leader of the Year: Anthony Lai, International School of Hospitality

• Supplier of the Year: PSAV

• Sustainability Leading Company: Atlantis Casino Resort Spa

• Technology Innovator of the Year: Aria

• Human Resources Employee of the Year: Janice Tanaka, Hilton Grand Vacations

• Administrative Employee of the Year: Pattie Murray, Las Vegas Sands Corp.

• Guest Services Employee of the Year: Karen Shizuru, California Hotel

• Casino Employee of the Year: Kelly Van Aken, Cosmopolitan

• Food and Beverage Employee of the Year: Catherine Pai, Venetian/Palazzo

• Housekeeping Employee of the Year: Brenda Mendez Aceituno, Aria

• Public Area and Facilities: Joseph Wiehl, Cosmopolitan

• Sales Employee of the Year: Erin Naeve, Cosmopolitan

• Revenue Management Employee of the Year: Jemalyn Padovese, Mandarin Oriental

• Safety and Security Employee of the Year: Timothy Kennedy-Pierson, Venetian/Palazzo

• Women in Lodging Member of the Year: Pooneh Feldman, Aria

• Q1 Volunteer of the Quarter: Heather Kinnear, Atlantis Resort

• Q2 Volunteer of the Quarter: Anthony Lai, International School of Hospitality

• Q3 Volunteer of the Quarter: Jaime Miranda, Venetian/Palazzo

• Q4 Volunteer of the Quarter: Michele Kline, Service Cos.